Liturgical Year and Seasons

The mystery of Christ unfolds through the cycle of the year and we are called to live His mystery in our own lives. The Church has six different liturgical seasons throughout the year. What is the Liturgical Year and Calendar? What is a liturgical season?

Currently we are in the Christmas Season.

Lent is the next major season...

Lent is the 40 day period that precedes Easter. Beginning on Ash Wednesday, Lent is a season of reflection and preparation before Easter. By observing the 40 Days of Lent, we encounter Jesus Christ through prayer, fasting, and almsgiving. We go with Jesus into the desert for 40 days and walk with Him through His passion, death, and resurrection at Easter.

Ash Wednesday is February 14, 2024. On Ash Wednesday, the reception of ashes signifies our desire to turn away from sin, and to continue to reform our lives in light of the Gospel message of Jesus.  

Lent Resources

Here is more information and ways you can celebrate the Lent season as a family.

Encounter Christ in Lent

Lent Activities for Children

Lenten Activities for Children by Grades

Lent Home Altar Ideas

Stations of the Cross for Children